Pedorthist


Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Pedorthist.

Prosthetists-Orthotists license requirements are specified in section 468.803, Florida Statutes.

Online Application: Submit a completed application and the required fees to the Board Office. Select the “Apply Online” button and follow the prompts to complete the application. The associated fee payment screen will provide an invoice that must be paid by credit card before the application can be processed.  Once the application has been submitted, the status of application processing may be verified by selecting the “Status” button from the menu on the top right side of the page.

Paper Application: If submission of a paper application or payment by check is required, applicants may download a fillable pdf file, complete the application, print, and submit. Submit the completed paper application and required fees to the address listed below:

Florida Board of Orthotists and Prosthetists

Post Office Box 6330

Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330

Read Affirmation and Sign Application: The applicant must agree by signing the application that: “I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservation of any kind, and I state that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. I understand that if I provide false information that such action shall constitute cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of licensure to practice for which I am applying in the state of Florida”.

The Board of Orthotists and Prosthetists will consider denial of any application that is submitted with incomplete or inaccurate information disclosures related to criminal history or discipline.  Applicants must disclose all information accurately, completely, and include all required documentation.  You will be notified in writing by the Board Office if any additional documentation is required to complete your application.

Licensure Requirements

  • A high school diploma or its equivalent.
  • The minimum 120 hours of training must meet the following requirements:
    • Must take place in a program accredited by the National Commission on Orthotic and Prosthetic Education (NCOPE).
    • As of Janaury 1, 2009, the State of Florida requires training programs to be accredited by the National Commission on Orthotic and Prosthetic Education (NCOPE). Training obtained prior to Janaury 1, 2009, shall be considered acceptable to satisfy this rule when proof of completion is provided for the five domains: pedorthic assessment, techiniques and applications, patient management, practice management, and professional responsibility.
  • The internship must consist of 80 hours of pedorthic work experience under the direct supervision of a licensed orthotist, licensed pedorthist, an orthotist certified by the American Board of Certification (ABC), or a pedorthist certified by ABC.
  • Mandatory Courses – 64B14-5.005, F.A.C.
    • One hour of laws and rules in the area of Chapters 456, 468 Part XIV, F.S., and Rule Division 64B14, F.A.C.
    • One hour relating to the prevention of medical errors, which shall include a study of root cause analysis, error reduction and prevention, patient safety and medical records training.
    • One hour on infection disease control, including HIV/AIDS.
    • A course resulting in current registration or certification demonstrating competency in CPR sponsored by the American Heart Association, the American Safety and Health Institute or the American Red Cross.

For more information finding board approved courses, please visit www.cebroker.com or call 1-877-4346323

License Verification

If any type of license has ever been issued to the applicant in another state, contact the state licensing office and request license verification to be sent directly to the Board Office for each license issued. License verification may be mailed to the address provided below or by e-mail to MQA.OrthoPros@flhealth.gov.

Florida Board of Orthotists and Prosthetists

    4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-08

    Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257

Applicants with Health History

If a “yes” response is provided to any of the health history questions on the application, the applicant is required to submit supporting documentation including the relevant dates and circumstances and the names and addresses of the medical practitioners or hospitals who performed related treatments. The application is considered incomplete until all supporting documentation is provided to the department.

Applicants with License Discipline History

Applicants with prior disciplinary actions on any license from any state are required to submit the following supplemental documentation:

  • Board Actions – Certified copies of documents relative to any disciplinary action taken against any license. The documents must be certified and submitted by the agency or board that finalized the disciplinary action.
  • Self-Explanation – Applicants who have listed license discipline on the application must submit a letter to the board personally describing the circumstances that led to the disciplinary action. The letter should also include a thorough description of the rehabilitation taken by the applicant since the time of the event which would facilitate prevention of future occurrences.

Applicants with Criminal History

Applicants who have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony; or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to any crime in any jurisdiction; even if adjudication was withheld by the court; must answer the criminal history questions on the application and provide the following supplemental documentation:

  • Final Dispositions/Arrest Records – Final disposition records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, a letter on court letterhead must be sent from the clerk of the court attesting to records unavailability.
  • Completion of Sanctions – Probation and financial sanction records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. Parole records for offenses can be obtained from the Department of Corrections or at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, a letter on court letterhead must be sent from the clerk of the court attesting to records unavailability.
  • Self-Explanation – Applicants who have listed offenses on the application must submit a letter personally describing the circumstances of the offense. The letter must include the date of the original offense, the charge, and the jurisdiction where the incident occurred.

Note: All applications with “yes” responses to the history questions on the application will be reviewed by the Board office for possible consideration by the Board of Orthotists and Prosthetists. If required, the Board staff will notify you of the date that your application will be presented in the event that you would like to attend.

Electronic Fingerprint – Background Screening. 

The applicant must complete a criminal background screening pursuant to section 456.0135, Florida

Statutes, by submitting fingerprints electronically through a service provider approved by the Florida

Department of Law Enforcement.  The results will be returned to the Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse and are made available to the Department for review during the licensure process. Applicant fingerprints will be retained by FDLE and the Clearinghouse. All costs for conducting criminal history background screening and the retention of fingerprints are the responsibility of the applicant.

It is important to use the correct Originating Agency Identification (ORI) when submitting fingerprints. If an incorrect ORI number is provided to the Livescan service provider, the Department will not receive your fingerprint results.

The ORI number for the Board of Orthotists & Prosthetist is EDOH3451Z.

The applicant is responsible for selecting an approved Livescan Service Provider and for ensuring the results are reported to the Department. Print the electronic fingerprinting form, complete the information, and take the form to a Livescan Service Provider.  Upon completion of electronic fingerprinting, document the Transaction Control Number. This number is useful to track the fingerprint records in the event they are not properly transmitted to the Department.

For more information, frequently asked questions, and a list of all approved Livescan Service Providers, visit the Background Screening website at: http://www.flhealthsource.gov/backgroundscreening.

 

Health Care Fraud; Disqualifications for License, Certificate, or Registration

Effective July 1, 2012, Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes (F.S.), provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:

  • Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:
    • For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
    • For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
    • For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
  • Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
  • Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;
  • Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
  • Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.

Applicants with Health History

If you answer “yes” to any of the health history questions on the application, please submit supporting documentation including the relevant dates and circumstances of such treatment and/or addiction along with the names and addresses of the medical practitioners or hospitals who performed such treatment.

Applicants with Discipline History

Applicants with prior disciplinary actions are required to submit the following:

Board Actions – Certified copies of document(s) relative to any disciplinary action taken against any license. The documents must come from the agency that took the disciplinary action and must be certified by that agency.

Self-Explanation – A detailed description of the circumstances surrounding your disciplinary action and a thorough description of the rehabilitative changes in your lifestyle since the time of the disciplinary action which would enable you to avoid future occurrences. It would be helpful to include factors in your life, which you feel may have contributed to your disciplinary action, what you have learned about yourself since that time, and the changes you have made that support your rehabilitation.

Applicants with Criminal History

Applicants with prior criminal convictions are required to submit the following:

Final Dispositions/Arrest Records – Final disposition records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the clerk of the court attesting to their unavailability.

Completion of Probation/Parole/Sanctions – Probation and financial sanction records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. Parole records for offenses can be obtained from the Department of Corrections or at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the clerk of the court attesting to their unavailability.

Self-Explanation – Applicants who have listed offenses on the application must submit a letter in their own words describing the circumstances of the offense. Include in your letter the date of the original offense, the charge, and the jurisdiction where it occurred.

Electronic Fingerprinting

Effective January 1, 2013, applicants for initial licensure must use an approved Livescan Service Provider to submit electronic fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) for the purpose of conducting a search for any Florida and national criminal history records that may pertain to applicant. The results of the search will be returned to the Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse and made available to the Department for consideration during the licensure process. The fingerprints submitted by the applicant will be retained by FDLE and the Clearinghouse. All costs for conducting a criminal history background screening are borne by the applicant.

It is important to use the correct Originating Agency Identification (ORI) when submitting fingerprints. If you do not provide an ORI number or if you provide an incorrect ORI number to the Livescan service provider, the board office will not receive your fingerprint results.

The ORI number for the Board of Orthotists & Prosthetist is EDOH3451Z.

The applicant is fully responsible for selecting an approved Livescan Service Provider and for ensuring the results are reported to the Department. Print this electronic fingerprinting form and take it with you to a Livescan Service Provider.

For more information, FAQs, and a list of all approved Livescan Service Providers please visit the Background Screening website: http://www.flhealthsource.gov/background-screening/ (Click on Locate a Provider)

Health Care Fraud; Disqualification for License, Certificate, or Registration

Effective July 1, 2012, Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes (F.S.), provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:

  1. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:
    1. For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
    2. For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
    3. For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
  2. Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
  3. Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;
  4. Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
  5. Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.

Prosthetists-Orthotists license requirements are specified in section 468.803, Florida Statutes.

Online Application: Submit a completed application and the required fees to the Board Office. Select the “Apply Online” button and follow the prompts to complete the application. The associated fee payment screen will provide an invoice that must be paid by credit card before the application can be processed. Once the application has been submitted, the status of application processing may be verified by selecting the “Status” button from the menu on the top right side of the page.

Paper Application: If submission of a paper application or payment by check is required, applicants may download a fillable pdf file, complete the application, print, and submit. Submit the completed paper application and required fees to the address listed below:

Florida Board of Orthotists and Prosthetists
Post Office Box 6330
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330

Read Affirmation and Sign Application: The applicant must agree by signing the application that: “I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservation of any kind, and I state that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. I understand that if I provide false information that such action shall constitute cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of licensure to practice for which I am applying in the state of Florida”.

The Board of Orthotists and Prosthetists will consider denial of any application that is submitted with incomplete or inaccurate information disclosures related to criminal history or discipline. Applicants must disclose all information accurately, completely, and include all required documentation. You will be notified in writing by the Board Office if any additional documentation is required to complete your application.

Application Process

• Provide a copy of high school diploma or its equivalent.
• Provide proof of completion of the minimum 120 hours of training from:

• National Commission on Orthotic and Prosthetic Education (NCOPE), or…
• If training obtained prior to Janaury 1, 2009, proof of completion of the five domains: pedorthic assessment, techiniques and applications, patient management, practice management, and professional responsibility.

• Proof of completion of internship consisting of 80 hours of pedorthic work experience under the direct supervision of a licensed orthotist, licensed pedorthist, an orthotist certified by the American Board  of Certification (ABC), or a pedorthist certified by ABC.
• Mandatory Courses – 64B14-5.005, F.A.C.

• Provide proof of completion of the 1-hour of laws and rules in the area of Chapters 456, 468 Part XIV, F.S., and Rule Division 64B14, F.A.C.
• Provide proof of completion of the 1-hour of medical errors, which shall include a study of root cause analysis, error reduction and prevention, patient safety and medical records training.
• Provide proof of completion of the 1-hour on infection disease control, including HIV/AIDS.
• Provide proof of completion of a course resulting in current registration or certification demonstrating competency in CPR sponsored by the American Heart Association, the American Safety and Health Institute or the American Red Cross.

For more information finding board approved courses, please visit www.cebroker.com or call 1-877-434-6323

License Verification
If any type of license has ever been issued to the applicant in another state, contact the state licensing office and request license verification to be sent directly to the Board Office for each license issued. License verification may be mailed to the address provided below or by e-mail to MQA.OrthoPros@flhealth.gov.

Florida Board of Orthotists and Prosthetists
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-08
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257

  • Online Application: Submit a completed application and the required fees to the Board office. Select the “Apply Online” button and follow the prompts to complete the application. The associated fee payment screen will provide an invoice that must be paid by credit card before the application can be processed. Once the application has been submitted, the status of application processing may be verified by selecting the “Status” button from the menu on the top right side of the page.
  • Paper Application: If submission of a paper application or payment by check is required, applicants may download a fillable pdf file, complete the application, print, and submit. Submit the completed paper application and required fees to the address listed below. Please make checks or money orders payable to the “Department of Health.

Florida Board of Orthotists and Prosthetists
Post Office Box 6330
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330

Applicants who have taken and passed the ABC national certification examination (Parts I, II & III), below are the required fees.

Application Fee$400.00 (non-refundable)
Initial Licensure Fee$400.00
Unlicensed Activity Fee$5.00
TOTAL FEE$805.00

Note: The above fees must accompany the application or the application will not be processed. If your check is returned for insufficient funds, application processing will stop. Processing will resume once the outstanding fees are received.

To view the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics & Pedorthics, Inc. (ABC) examination fee schedule, you may visit their website by clicking on the link below or contact them via telephone number.

American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics & Pedorthics, Inc. (ABC)
330 John Carlyle Street, Suite 210
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
(703) 836-7114

Click on Chapter or Section Number to View

Florida Statutes

Chapter 468, Part XIV: Orthotists & Prosthetists Practice Act
Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions
Chapter 120: Administrative Procedure Act
Chapter 119: Public Records
Chapter 408: Health Care Administration
Chapter 112: Public Officers and Employees: General Provisions

Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)

Rules: Chapter 64B14: Board of Orthotists & Prosthetists Rules

Applicants with Health History

If a “yes” response is provided to any of the health history questions on the application, the applicant is required to submit supporting documentation including the relevant dates and circumstances and the names and addresses of the medical practitioners or hospitals who performed related treatments. The application is considered incomplete until all supporting documentation is provided to the department.

Applicants with License Discipline History

Applicants with prior disciplinary actions on any license from any state are required to submit the following supplemental documentation:

Board Actions – Certified copies of documents relative to any disciplinary action taken against any license. The documents must be certified and submitted by the agency or board that finalized the disciplinary action.
Self-Explanation – Applicants who have listed license discipline on the application must submit a letter to the board personally describing the circumstances that led to the disciplinary action. The letter should also include a thorough description of the rehabilitation taken by the applicant since the time of the event which would facilitate prevention of future occurrences.

Applicants with Criminal History

Applicants who have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony; or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to any crime in any jurisdiction; even if adjudication was withheld by the court; must answer the criminal history questions on the application and provide the following supplemental documentation:

Final Dispositions/Arrest Records – Final disposition records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, a letter on court letterhead must be sent from the clerk of the court attesting to records unavailability.
Completion of Sanctions – Probation and financial sanction records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. Parole records for offenses can be obtained from the Department of Corrections or at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, a letter on court letterhead must be sent from the clerk of the court attesting to records unavailability.
Self-Explanation – Applicants who have listed offenses on the application must submit a letter personally describing the circumstances of the offense. The letter must include the date of the original offense, the charge, and the jurisdiction where the incident occurred.

Note: All applications with “yes” responses to the history questions on the application will be reviewed by the Board office for possible consideration by the Board of Orthotists and Prosthetists. If required, the Board staff will notify you of the date that your application will be presented in the event that you would like to attend.

Electronic Fingerprint - Background Screening

The applicant must complete a criminal background screening pursuant to section 456.0135, Florida Statutes, by submitting fingerprints electronically through a service provider approved by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. The results will be returned to the Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse and are made available to the Department for review during the licensure process. Applicant fingerprints will be retained by FDLE and the Clearinghouse. All costs for conducting criminal history background screening and the retention of fingerprints are the responsibility of the applicant.

It is important to use the correct Originating Agency Identification (ORI) when submitting fingerprints. If an incorrect ORI number is provided to the Livescan service provider, the Department will not receive your fingerprint results.

The ORI number for the Board of Orthotists & Prosthetist is EDOH3451Z.

The applicant is responsible for selecting an approved Livescan Service Provider and for ensuring the results are reported to the Department. Print the electronic fingerprinting form, complete the information, and take the form to a Livescan Service Provider. Upon completion of electronic fingerprinting, document the Transaction Control Number. This number is useful to track the fingerprint records in the event they are not properly transmitted to the Department.

For more information, frequently asked questions, and a list of all approved Livescan Service Providers, visit the Background Screening website at: http://www.flhealthsource.gov/background-screening.

Health Care Fraud; Disqualifications for License, Certificate, or Registration

Effective July 1, 2012, Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes (F.S.), provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:

• Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:

• For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
• For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
• For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;

• Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
• Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;
• Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
• Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.



Please contact the board to obtain the information you are attempting to retrieve.

Board Office
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. ET
(850) 245-4292
Contact Us