The Florida Board of Orthotists & Prosthetists shall consist of seven members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The board members must be residents of this state; two members must be licensed practicing prosthetists with a minimum of 3 years’ clinical or practical experience, at least one of whom has attained a minimum of a bachelor’s degree; one must be a licensed practicing orthotist with a minimum of 3 years’ clinical or practical experience who has attained a minimum of a bachelor’s degree; two members must be prosthetic or orthotic users, the parents, guardians, or spouses of prosthetic or orthotic users, or any combination of such users and nonusers who are not deriving economic benefit from the fitting or dispensing of orthotic or prosthetic devices and who have never been orthotists or prosthetists or members of a closely related profession; one member must be a physician licensed under chapter 458, chapter 459, chapter 460, or chapter 461 who has extensive knowledge of orthotics or prosthetics; and one member must be a licensed practicing orthotist, orthotic fitter, or pedorthist with a minimum of 3 years’ clinical or practical experience.
More Latest News
September 27, 2017
Florida statute requires individuals who were fingerprinted on or after Jan. 1, 2013 to have their background results retained in Florida’s Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse. Continue reading
September 13, 2017
Due to impacts from Hurricane Irma, Governor Scott has issued an executive order regarding the state of Florida Continue reading